Want the latest Stella Prize news?

The 2017 Stella Prize

The winner of the 2017 Stella Prize is Heather Rose for her novel The Museum of Modern Love. Rose receives $50,000 in prize money thanks to the generous support of National Australia Bank.

2017 Winner

About the author

The Museum of Modern Love is Heather Rose’s seventh book. Her work spans adult literary fiction, children’s literature, fantasy/sci-fi and crime. She was the inaugural Writer in Residence at the Museum of Old and New Art (MoNA) in Hobart from 2012 to 2013 where she did much of the research for The Museum of Modern Love. Heather is currently studying Fine Arts at UTAS.

2017 Stella Prize Shortlist

2017 Stella Prize Longlist

The 2017 Stella Prize longlist recognises exceptional writing in a year of especially fine literature by Australian women. This year’s longlist is notable for the strength and diversity of investigative, biographical and autobiographical work, as well as for highly accomplished fiction and stories. All of the books are topical and many of them address urgent national issues with particular relevance to women, at a time when women are fighting to be politically seen and heard, and to secure their positions in the public sphere.

The writing on this longlist takes a strong stand against issues such as racism, offshore incarceration, violence against women and alcohol abuse. Two of the books on the longlist explore the dying process, a couple of others address the role of the media in reporting tragedy, while the question of the ownership of a woman’s story is at the forefront of another. The role of art in enlarging and acknowledging the inner life of individuals is directly addressed by one novel and exemplified in others. Painstaking research is a characteristic of many of the books on the 2017 Stella Prize longlist, whose writers have conducted extensive investigations into subjects that are not necessarily widely understood. These are important contributions to the national conversation, and help us to move towards a more inclusive and empathetic Australian society. In fiction and in nonfiction, the titles on the 2017 longlist emphasise the value of the individual, and many demonstrate the capacity of personal disclosure to illuminate broader social concerns.

The 12 titles on this longlist are outstanding examples of the literature that the Stella Prize values: original, excellent and engaging. Women’s writing is flourishing in this country, and the Stella Prize, now in its fifth year, is dedicated to the recognition and celebration of the growth and continuity of Australian women’s literature.

This program is proudly supported by:

    Stella Prize Award Partner Program Partners

Share via:      

Help change the story

As a not-for-profit organisation with ambitious goals, Stella relies on the generous support of donors to help fund our work.