Want the latest Stella Prize news?

The Stella Prize

The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing. The $60,000 prize is awarded annually to one outstanding book deemed to be original, excellent, and engaging.

Stella is delighted to announce The Jaguar by Sarah Holland-Batt, as the winner of the 2023 Stella Prize.

2023 Winner

About the author

Sarah Holland-Batt is the author of three books of poetry – The Jaguar (2022), The Hazards (2015) and Aria (2008) – and a book of essays on contemporary poetry, Fishing for Lightning (2021). Her honours include the 2016 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Poetry, a Sidney Myer Creative Fellowship, and residencies at MacDowell and Yaddo in the United States. She is presently the Judy Harris Writer in Residence at the University of Sydney’s Charles Perkins Centre, and Professor of Creative Writing and Literary Studies at QUT.

2023 Stella Prize Shortlist

Explore the 2023 Stella Prize

Share via:      

Explore more

Help change the story

As a not-for-profit organisation with ambitious goals, Stella relies on the generous support of donors to help fund our work.